The Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag // As if We need a Reason to Freak Out over Books

The title alone has so many things to freak out over. Like how it says “mid-year,” which it is and that means half the year is gone already but I’m not going to freak out over that because I’m over it. (#LIESSSS)

But we are going to be freaking out over books because what else are we bookworms supposed to do??

And if any of you want to use the questions in this tag for your own blogs, KINDLY DO SO. Better yet, comment the link to your posts so that I can check them out.

DSC01676

 

BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR SO FAR

So we’ve decided to kill me from the very start of the tag, huh? #Rude Seriously, I’ve read many books this year that I’ve so thoroughly enjoyed that it’s hard even for my ruthless heart to pick.

But I shall narrow it down to two: Hunted and Our Dark Duet. Now, kindly note that I’ve picked these books by excluding Sarah J. Maas books because otherwise, there’d be no competition.

I’m incontestably biased when it comes to Empire of Storms and A Court of Wings and Ruin as I’ve already yelled here , and roughly everywhere else on the blog.

 

BEST SEQUEL OF THE YEAR SO FAR

Well, as previously mentioned: Our Dark Duet and SJM books, OBVIOUSLY.

But also: Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian.

 

NEW RELEASE YOU HAVEN’T READ YET BUT WANT TO

Hahahaha…. Why must you wound me so??

I still haven’t finished books from 1876, One Behind The Screen. You cannot honestly expect me to have my TBR under control because it is a wild, deadly beast of the darkness and it shan’t be tamed.

I’m just looking at those thumbnails and crying because whyyyy haven’t I read these gorgeous books yet!?!?

 

MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASE FOR AUTUMN / WINTER

Since I live in India and it has no sense of seasons (or anything else, really), I’m just going to tell you my most anticipated release for the rest of 2017:

31450852

Absolutely no surprise there, I’m sure. And if you haven’t yet gotten annoyed by my incessant mentions of Sarah J. Maas, you will soon.

Other releases I’m excited for:

  • One Dark Throne
  • All The Crooked Saints
  • A Jigsaw of Fire and Stars
  • That Inevitable Victorian Thing
  • The Wicker King

Check out yet more book releases I’m anticipating.

0707

 

BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT OF THE YEAR SO FAR

Rapunzel Untangled… A Rapunzel retelling, so of course I was interested. If you didn’t know, I’m an ardent lover of fairy tale retellings. This was so bland and honestly, so stupid, that it traumatized me.

Holding Up The Universe… A book against fat-shaming, highlighting body positivity. Which it surely did, with an interesting addition of prosopagnosia. But there was hardly anything else about the book that I actually liked.

 

BIGGEST SURPRISE OF THE YEAR SO FAR

When We Collided… I was blown away by the beauty of this book. I loved practically everything from the characters to the setting to the ship. An utterly gorgeous book.

Carry On… Confession: I really did not like Fangirl so I expected very little from Carry On. But, wow, I adored the heck out of this book.

 

NEW FAVOURITE AUTHOR

I recently read the Monsters of Verity series I’m in love with VE Schwab’s writing and her utterly beautiful works. I can’t wait to read more of her books. And just, HER EXQUISITE WORDS.

The wounds born of love and monstrous pain are still fresh.

DSC01727

NEWEST FAVOURITE CHARACTER

AUGUST FLYNN.

He is so complex and layered and just pure bliss to read. Also, internal struggles FTW. A monster and a boy. A boy and a monster. And an astounding character whom I am irrevocably in love with. His thoughts and feelings and habits and literally everything else…. *dissolves into a puddle of nothing and everything and can’t anymore*

Everything about him wrecks me in the most beautiful way possible.

 

BOOK THAT MADE YOU CRY

For those of you who don’t know me, my name is Alice feels-way-too-much Swan.

 

A BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAPPY

A Court of Wings and Ruin is everywhere, you think. And I… I have no excuse. I shall bribe you with ice cream until you get used to it. But ACOWAR gave me 370592 emotions and one of them was happy, so there we go. I related to Hunted on such a fundamental level that it surprised even me.

The Names They Gave Us has such a beautiful Christian rep and a moving story of friendship and dreams and just life in general. It was stunning.  Aristotle and Dante was an adorable piece of fluff in terms of the ship. I thrived on Ari’s angst and thoughts. The rest of the book was great, too, in the way all of Benjamin Alire Saenz’s books are.

I’ve only included a picture of the first Percy Jackson book, but the entire series fits the category. I’ll never get over them.

 

MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK SO FAR

Are we talking about visually pleasing books or their words are the most beautiful?? For the latter, just reread the post, One Behind The Screen. All these books that I’ve gushed about are beautiful.

For the former, well…

No, it’s not your imagination. I really did add ACOWAR here, too. Apparently, I’m obsessed with dedicated to the series.

tdc + ACOTAR + roses

 

what’s your most anticipated release this year? do you also have a favourite author or authors whose books you can’t shut up about? how often do you cry while reading books?? let me know in the comments.

6 thoughts on “The Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag // As if We need a Reason to Freak Out over Books

  1. AHHH SO MUCH TO LOVE IN THIS POST!! Omg Ari & Dante tho.😍😍 I just reread it a few days ago and LOVED IT EVEN MORE THE SECOND TIME ROUND. And VE Schwab is like queen with her Monsters of Verity series. I can’t even with what a precious little cinnamon bucket August is. Please someone protect him forever. ❤️💔 I also loved Gentleman’s Guide and Everything All At Once so hopefully you get a chance to read them someday!!🎉🎉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

