10 Series that I’m Refusing to Acknowledge But Still Stressing Over

So, remember this nice little feature on Goodreads called the Reading Challenge? A while back, I was a whole 9 books ahead of schedule and felt like a proper, productive pumpkin and even rewarded myself with ice cream.

And now I’m a book behind schedule and it’s been AGONY and DESPAIR and SMITE ME, LEGOLAS.

tumblr_ms4p43ulan1rl0w25o1_400
Don’t mind me. I’m just a distressed puddle.

While I’d like to merely blame school for all of it, I must confess that I’d been in a reading slump for the better part of July.

The thing is that my TBR could probably cover the entire diameter of Jupiter — twice — but I have this annoying habit of staying away from certain books for the ridiculous reason of wanting to PRESERVE THEIR MYSTERY A LITTLE LONGER.

That’s literally it.

I have a whole list of books that I don’t want to read just yet because I don’t want to spoil the mystery of what the fuck they actually are. And, of course, we’re going to talk about that list.

0707

#1 Six of Crows duology

A lot of people have been yelling about Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom and what I’ve gotten so far is epic heists + badass characters + all the sass of ever??

Honestly, I don’t require much more in a book. So, in my TBR it went.

And there it has stayed for 118 years.

The covers look glorious and Bardugo has gotten high praise and I’ve even bought the books and yet… And yet I just don’t want to read them.

Not yet.

Let them remain vague and mysterious just beyond the veil.

 

#2 Strange the Dreamer

Another hyped book that literally everyone seems to love??

I’ve learnt that there exists no such thing as a book for everyone and so that has sparked my trust issues.

But more importantly… A library that kidnaps boys and keeps them?? Fanart with blue creatures??? A bookworm who sounds to be on the perfect side of perfection?? Dreams that are wild and improbable and full of monsters!?

This book sounds like a grenade that’s about to explode in my face and I’m afraid to touch it.

std

 

#3 Assassin’s Blade

Yes, I, who yell about Sarah J. Maas books at least once every hour, have an unread Maas book.

Throughout the Throne of Glass series, there have been small, yet epic, references to Celaena’s antics that form this collection of novellas. There’s also the matter of Sam Cortland and the ship that rivaled Titanic in its sinking.

But dude, this is Sarah J. Maas so who knows what’s going to happen and I’m not sure how or if I even survived her other books and just end me now.

But Maas has explicitly said that reading Assassin’s Blade before Tower of Dawn (less than a month to go!!) would be the sensible thing to do, and although I’m not sure I should be trusting her advice because this could wreck me, I shall read it.

Soon, my Precious. Soon.

 

#4 The Rest of Us Just Live Here

Let’s just take a moment to read the blurb here.

Not everyone has to be the chosen one.

The one who has to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death.

What if you were Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.

And what if there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world and you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life?

Even if your friend might be the god of mountain lions…

I’m soRRY WHUT????? This blurb is a wild ride from start to finish and I have no idea what is going on here. A tiny part of my mind, probably the sane part, keeps whispering that perhaps it should remain that way.

Also, can someone come blow up my high school, too?

 

#5 Shades of Magic series

Okay, I’ve read VE Schwab before as I screeched said here and I’m in love but also, deeply, deeply terrified of what she can do.

I’m planning to read them sometime this year though??

DSC01727

 

#6 Ivory and Bone series

Confession Time: The only reason these books are on my TBR are because of their weirdly alluring titles. Also, perhaps their covers.

But I know practically nothing else about them, not even their genre.

Somehow, literally no one in the bookish world seems to be talking about them?? That could either mean these books are very good or very, very bad.

I’m loathe to find out.

 

#7 Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard series

I’m still not over the fact that we had to endure two (!!) entire (!!) books (!!) without Percy’s narration and I’m giving Uncle Rick the cold shoulder.

Plus, I read a spoiler on Tumblr that, apparently, Magnus Chase doesn’t like blue?? I mean what sort of abomination person doesn’t like blue!?!?

I don’t want to find out.

DSC01245
I don’t know what’s going on in this photo, either, One Behind The Screen.

 

#8 The Maze Runner series

I watched the movie — don’t look at me like that, I didn’t know it was a book — and I honestly don’t remember anything about it except that both a character and an actor were named Thomas??

But I distinctly remember not caring about anything that was happening the whole time I forced myself to sit through the movie. I. just. didn’t. care.

But everyone else in this withering planet seems to.

So anyways, I don’t think I’ll ever get around to reading this one.

 

#9 The Wicker King

Look, I actually have a contemporary on the list!! And I had dystopian before that! My fantasy soul is having whiplash but I’m proud of it.

This could be considered cheating as the book isn’t technically out yet, but let’s not talk about that.

Apparently, this book is about two friends spiraling into madness together or something?? Which is #goals, tbh.

Perhaps that’s why I don’t want t find out the precise nature of their possibly one-way trip down the rabbit hole.

 

#10 The Raven Cycle

I’m diverging a lot a little from the main theme of the list because I actually gave in and started the series. I couldn’t stand the mystery any longer. I NEEDED TO KNOW.

I’ve finished The Raven Boys and I’m halfway through The Dream Thieves and I’m LOVING. EVERY. PAGE. OF. IT. so far.

I won’t spoil anything but these boys are the absolute best and just adihsdifgwl.

I adore the heck out of Gansey and may I just say RONAN N. LYNCH!!

Where has he been all my life???

[Skip the image to avoid spoilers.]

dgrouesumai7dg_
Gaze upon the perfection that is Ronan Lynch. And this is just from the first book.

I might be mildly obsessed.

giphy

are there any books you’ve been avoiding because you don’t want to know what they’re actually about or if they’re everything you’d dreamed they’d be?? please tell me I’m not alone let me know in the comments.

6 thoughts on “10 Series that I’m Refusing to Acknowledge But Still Stressing Over

  1. I’m a hero at keeping books on my shelf that are being hyped up or have been hyped up. I just get scared and wary about reading them because I’m somehow afraid that I won’t like them as much because of all the expectations I got.. It’s hell sometimes because I really want to read them, and then when I’m holding one of them it’s.. “nope, not yet” as if I can’t handle the stress. “as if” Okay, I just can’t handle the stress and the pressure and ugh.

    Maybe I should lock myself up for a while with only those books so I have no choice BUT read them. Sounds like a plan.. Now to find someone who brings me food..

    Like

  2. This is so me! Just everything. I have so many books on my tbr that I’m like omg I can’t wait to read it.it’s going to be amazing! And people are like…. Well why don’t you read it then?…… But I mean. Okay. What if they aren’t amazing? Also. Then I’ll have read them? And which one? No thanks I think I’ll just wait and not read any of them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

